Message from the President and CEO

A Message From the President/CEO Saul F. Levenshus
Published Wednesday, May 1, 2019
by Saul F. Levenshus, President/CEO

The Barshop JCC will host its 2019 Annual Meeting on Wednesday May 22, at 7pm in the Holzman Auditorium. In addition to installing our officers and directors for the coming year, this year’s annual meeting is an opportunity to acknowledge several individuals whose contributions over the past year and beyond have stood out and are deserving of special recognition. Our full slate of Officers and Directors being installed is listed below along with a listing of our 2019 Award recipients. In addition, this year we will bid farewell to one of the JCC’s longest tenured professional staff, Cathy Pottorf. Cathy has served the JCC loyally for 27 years, primarily as our Director of Member Services and the last few years as Director of Adult/Senior Services. Although Cathy will continue on a part time basis in her capacity as Director of the Senior Games, which she has overseen for more than a quarter of a century, we hope you will join us to recognize Cathy for her outstanding service and simultaneously acknowledge the extraordinary efforts of each of these worthy individuals.

Interested parties should R.S.V.P. by May 17 to Diana Creel at 210-302-6822.

Slate of JCC Officers and Directors for 2019 - 2020


Chairman of the Board: Adam Zeldes

Vice Chair/Chair Elect: Leslie Hyman

Vice Chair: Rhonda Grimm

Vice Chair: Michael Rosenberg

Treasurer: Jeff Siegel

Secretary: Jen Eichelbaum

Immediate Past President: Danna Halff


Board Members beginning a new term in 2019

Brian Colton, Jerry Gerson, Jonathan Magid, Karly Penner, Ryan Reed, Alan Ross

Special Thanks to the following Outgoing Board Members

Rick Byrd, Michael Piesman, Randy Tawil, Robin Thorner

2019 Award Recipients

Charninsky Award/Leader of the Year: Michael Rosenberg

Charlie Pearl Award/Volunteer of the Year: Steve Kovner

Lichtenstein Award/Program of the Year:

Impact: NCJW, Susan Butler, Rhonda Grimm and Alan Petlin

Weldon C. Place Award/Sports & Fitness Achievement: Mark Saroni

William Alter Awards/Emerging Leadership: Sharon Teich & Jeff Siegel

Aunt Roselle Smith/BBYO Youth Leadership Awards: Merrill Kasanoff & Aiden Sowry

Gloria Seitzman Award/Staff of the Year: Calla Pfeiffer & Blake Edwards


President & CEO

Back to top